U.S. Legislation Introduced Regarding the Aegean Maritime Borders Between Greece and Turkey

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On April 21, 2005, Representative Robert E. Andrews (D-NJ) reintroduced H.Con.Res.137, "Expressing the sense of the Congress regarding Turkey's claims of sovereignty over islands and islets in the Aegean Sea." The Resolution establishes that:

the maritime boundaries established in the 1923 Lausanne Treaty of Peace, the 1932 Convention and Protocol Between Italy and Turkey, and the 1947 Paris Treaty of Peace, as well as international law, under which the Dodecanese islands and adjacent islets were ceded by Italy to Greece, are the borders between Greece and Turkey in the Aegean Sea; and

any party, including Turkey, objecting to these established boundaries should seek redress in the International Court of Justice at The Hague.

H.Con.Res.137 expresses the view of the House of Representatives that the boundaries between Greece and Turkey in the Aegean have been established once and for all and that islands and islets on the Greek side, including the islets of Imia, are the sovereign territory of Greece.

Original co-sponsors of H.Con.Res.137 are Rep. Michael Bilirakis (R-FL), Rep. James P. McGovern (D-MA), Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) and Rep. Diane Watson (D-CA). H.Con.Res.137 incorporates language initiated by AHI and first introduced November 7, 1997 by Rep. Michael Pappas (R-NJ) in the 105th Congress.

Regarding the resolution, AHI Executive Director Nick Larigakis stated: "AHI commends Rep. Andrews for reintroducing this resolution. It reaffirms the core American interest in the rule of law. AHI thanks the current co-sponsors and urges all members of Congress to co-sponsor and support H.Con.Res.137."

For additional information, contact Georgia Economou at (202) 785-8430 or georgia@ahiworld.org, or visit the AHI website at http://www.ahiworld.org.

2000 © Hellenic Communication Service, L.L.C. All Rights Reserved.