Cyprus to Host EU 2008 Science Olympiad

Cyprus will host the 6th European Union Science Olympiad (EUSO). The EUSO, a science competition for sixteen-year-old EU students, will be held this year in Nicosia between 11 - 17 May.

Contestants will have to prove their knowledge in physics, chemistry and biology. This year’s Olympiad will take place at the University of Cyprus’ campus. More than 100 students from 22 countries have applied to participate in the Olympiad.

The participating countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

Last July, the Council of Ministers approved a budget of 123.000 euro to help organise the Olympiad in Cyprus.

(Posting date 03 May 2008)

HCS encourages readers to view other articles and releases in our permanent, extensive archives at the URL

2000 © Hellenic Communication Service, L.L.C. All Rights Reserved.