About Michael Wood

From Maya Vision International --

Brief Biography

Michael Wood is the writer and presenter of many critically acclaimed series on television, including Art of the Western World, Legacy and In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great. He is author of over sixty TV films which have been shown worldwide and of several best selling and highly praised books.

He was educated at Manchester Grammar School and Oriel College Oxford where he did postgraduate research in Anglo-Saxon history. Since then he has worked as a journalist, broadcaster and film maker. His films have centred on history, but have included travel (Great Railway Journeys of the World; River Journeys; The Sacred Way); politics (Saddam's Killing Fields: an award winning account of the destruction of the Marsh Arabs of South Iraq) and cultural history (Hitler's Search for the Holy Grail, 1999: a study of the abuse of history and archaeology under the Nazis).

His academic background was in early medieval English history; among his publications are In Search of the Dark Ages and Domesday. He published a series of medieval essays as "In Search of England."

Conquistadors, a four-part series followed four epic journeys during the Spanish Conquest of the New World. These were broadcast by the BBC in November 2000.

Indian civilisation has long been a special interest: Over the years Michael Wood has made a dozen visits to India and in addition to his films, Darshan and Legacy, he has written The Smile of Murugan, about a small town inTamil Nadu and its annual pilgrimage. Michael's new epic six-part documentary series, The Story of India, started airing on Friday 24 August 2007 on British television stations. To promote the series, and the accompanying hardback book, Michael will be making a number of personal appearances. Click here to view schedule.>>

Michael Wood lives in North London with his wife and their two daughters.


The Story of India (2007)
In Search of Myths and Heroes (2005)
In Search of Shakespeare (2003)
Conquistadors (2000)
In Search of England (1999)
In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great (1997)
The Smile of Murugan: A South Indian Journey (1995)
Legacy: In Search of the Origins of Civilisation (1992)
Art of the Western World (1989), Introductory Essay
Green and Pleasant Land:The Photographs of John Davies (1987)
Domesday (1986)
The World Atlas of Archaeology (1985), Editor
In Search of the Trojan War (1985)
Shakespeare in Perspective (1984), Contributor
River Journeys (1984), Contributor
Great Little Railways (1983), Contributor
Ideal and Reality in Frankish and Anglo-Saxon Society (1983), Contributor
Great Railway Journeys of the World (1981)
In Search of the Dark Ages (1981)


The Story of India (2007)
Gilbert White--The Nature Man (2006)
In Search of Myths and Heroes (2005)
Top Ten Egypt (2003)
In Search of Shakespeare (2003)
Conquistadors (2000)
Hitler's Search for the Holy Grail (1999)
In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great (1997)
Saddam's Killing Fields (1993)
In Search of the Trojan War (1985)
In Search of Alfred the Great (1981)
In Search of Eric Bloodaxe (1981)
In Search of Arthur (1980)
In Search of Offa (1979)

(Updated 09 September 2007)

Hosting of webpages sponsored by Hellenic Communication Service, the Christos and Mary Papoutsy Charitable Foundation, and the Advisory Board of the John C. Rouman Classical Lecture Series at the University of New Hampshire. For more information, contact the Classics Program at UNH or contact Hellenic Communication Service (PO Box 710, Rye Beach, NH 03871; helleniccomserve@papcoholdings.org).